Reading the Sculpture2018-05-18T18:22:35+00:00

Reading the Sculpture

Basilica of Vézelay at winter solstice illuminated capitals

In the stone of the capitals, In the twelfth century, sculptors carved images of their daily life, their faith and their vision of the world. Mischievous or solemn, astonishing and sometimes confusing, sumptuous most often, they transmit humble messages and powerful teachings that it is not always easy to read. How to understand them? What do they still have to say to the men of the 21st century?

The marquee reading workshop proposes an approach that is both spontaneous and scholarly. Each participant is invited to give his feelings, his interpretation. The guide offers historical landmarks and elements of translation of the symbolic language used by artists. This dialogue with the stone brings from the bottom of the ages answers to universal questions that can still be very personal today..

In practice

In order to the groups et the school, this workshop is organized reservation.
In order to the individual, the Visitor's House offers workshops reading capitals in the month of December around the winter solstice, when the capitals are lit live at certain times of the day. Dates and times are published on our facebook page

Duration : 2 H 30

Prices
Groups: minimum package 10 people, 240 € and 18 € per additional person
School: minimum package 10 people, 120 € and 9 € per additional student
Individuals: 20 € pp.

Before attending this workshop, it is advisable to follow the Visitor Centre tour or at least having already made a first discovery of the basilica.

Basilica of Vézelay the moulinmystique

Marquee Reading Workshop: flow

Firstly :

  • Receive
    The participants of the workshop are invited by the guide to meet around the same marquee for to be "listening" to the image and to name the forms down to the details.
  • Lira
    Then in the light of biblical tradition, patristic and in some cases reference to other ancient sources, the guide invites readers to read the links between images and writings.
  • To interpret
    With a first look at the image offered by the craftsman and a reading enlightened by tradition, each in silence takes the time to make sculpture his own word.

In a second time :

  • transmit
    The group is formed as a duet or trio. Each small group will be entrusted with the discovery of a new marquee that he will explore according to the previous step to guide the eyes of all workshop participants. This time or one makes the stone speak is a way to make it heard in the present, to make life spring up for today, in short to actualize it; when the 12rd talk to 21rd !
Basilica of Vézelay Daniel in the lions' den

L’Atelier Lecture de Chapiteaux2018-05-18T18:22:35+00:00

L’Atelier Lecture de Chapiteaux

Basilique de vézelay au solstice d'hiver chapiteaux éclairés

Dans la pierre des chapiteaux, des sculpteurs ont taillé au XIIème siècle des images de leur vie quotidienne, de leur foi et de leur vision du monde. Espiègles ou solennelles, étonnantes et parfois déroutantes, somptueuses le plus souvent, elles transmettent d’humbles messages et de puissants enseignements qu’il n’est pas toujours évident de lire. Comment les comprendre ? Qu’ont-ils encore à dire aux hommes du XXIème siècle ?

L’atelier lecture des chapiteaux propose une approche à la fois spontanée et savante. Chaque participant est invité à donner son ressenti, son interprétation. Le guide offre des repères historiques et des éléments de traduction de la langue symbolique utilisée par les artistes. Ce dialogue avec la pierre fait surgir du fond des âges des réponses à des questionnements universels qui peuvent encore aujourd’hui s’avérer très personnelles.

En Pratique

Pour les groupes et les scolaires, cet atelier s’organise sur réservation.
Pour les individuels, la Maison du Visiteur propose des ateliers lecture de chapiteaux au mois de décembre autour du solstice d’hiver, quand les chapiteaux sont éclairés en direct à certaines heures du jour. Les dates et horaires sont publiés sur notre page facebook

Durée : 2 H 30

Tarifs
Groupes : forfait minimum 10 personnes, 240€ et 18€ par personne supplémentaire
Scolaires : forfait minimum 10 personnes, 120€ et 9€ par étudiant supplémentaire
Individuels : 20€ pp.

Avant de participer à cet atelier, il est conseillé de suivre l’atelier-découverte ou du moins d’avoir déjà accompli une première découverte de la basilique.

Basilique de Vézelay le moulinmystique

Atelier Lecture de Chapiteaux : déroulement

Dans un premier temps :

  • Recevoir
    Les participants de l’atelier sont invités par le guide à se réunir autour du même chapiteau pour être à « l’écoute » de l’image et en nommer les formes jusque dans les détails.
  • Lire
    Puis à la lumière de la tradition biblique, patristique et en référence dans certains cas à d’autres sources antiques, le guide invite à une lecture qui tient compte des liens entre images et écrits.
  • Interpréter
    Fort d’un premier regard sur l’image offerte par l’artisan et d’une lecture éclairée par la tradition, chacun dans le silence prend le temps de faire sien la sculpture comme une parole entendue personnellement.

Dans un deuxième temps :

  • Transmettre
    Le groupe est constitué en duo ou trio. Chaque petit groupe se verra confier la découverte d’un nouveau chapiteau qu’il explorera selon la démarche précédente afin de guider à son tour les regards de tous les participants de l’atelier. Ce temps ou l’on fait parler la pierre est une façon de la faire entendre au présent, d’en faire jaillir la vie pour aujourd’hui, en somme de l’actualiser ; quand le 12ème parle au 21ème !
Basilique de Vézelay Daniel dans la fosse aux lions