Who are we ?

The Visitor's House of Vézelay

Our team, our history

We are a small group of passionate architects and art history lovers of the eternal hill and its jewel, the basilica.

With our association "Présence à Vézelay", we have, for ten years, guided the visitors in the church of the Madeleine, at the side of the Franciscan who were in charge ... and became aware of our difficulty in answering the unfathomable questions always raised by this masterpiece of the twelfth century, in the limited time of a visit to the basilica and the crowd of great days! The idea came to us to open a place that allows visitors to Vézelay to tap deeper into the extraordinary artistic and spiritual wealth of this marvel of Romanesque art: an essential stop for visit with another look!

The Visitor's House opened in 2003. We are four permanent animators, a multidisciplinary team. Hélène studied at the Louvre, Christopher a master of arts in Cambridge, Elisabeth in classical literature and a pedagogical training, Jean-Noël is a centralist. Every year, young trainees join us. Student guides, students in architecture or art, they enrich our project with their enthusiasm and the questioning of their generation. Besides, if some of you are tempted ...

Hélène Ramin Véronique Feugère and Christopher Kelly vézelay Visitor's House

AN ESSENTIAL "If you plan to visit the Basilica of Vezelay, go first to the Visitor's House. You will receive all the information to prepare your visit and make the most of the basilica ...read moreMalmédy, Belgium

INDISPENSABLE to understand the Light of VEZELAY "A wonderful welcome by Véronique and Christopher, passionate people who know how to transmit the love of this magical and sacred place ..." Sylvie, Culture in Freedom

EXCEPTIONAL "The visit is fascinating and the way it is done so successful. The goal of instructing the visitor on the secrets of the magnificent basilica of Vézelay is more than achieved. Bravo" UL

Qui sommes nous ?

La Maison du Visiteur de Vézelay

Notre équipe, notre histoire

Nous sommes un petit groupe de passionnés d’architecture et d’histoire de l’art, amoureux de la colline éternelle et de son joyau, la basilique.

Avec notre association « Présence à Vézelay », nous avons, pendant dix ans, guidé les visiteurs dans l’église de la Madeleine, au côté des Franciscains qui en avaient la charge… et pris conscience de notre difficulté à répondre aux insondables questions que suscite toujours ce chef d’œuvre du XIIème siècle, dans le temps limité d’une visite à la basilique et la foule des grands jours ! L’idée nous est venue d’ouvrir un lieu qui permette aux visiteurs de Vézelay de puiser plus profondément dans l’extraordinaire richesse artistique et spirituelle de cette merveille de l’art roman.

La Maison du Visiteur a ouvert ses portes en 2003. Nous sommes quatre permanents à l’animer, une équipe pluridisciplinaire. Hélène a fait l’école du Louvre, Christopher un master of arts à Cambridge, Elisabeth des lettres classiques et une formation de pédagogue, Jean-Noël est centralien. Chaque année, de jeunes stagiaires nous rejoignent. Elèves-guides, étudiants en architecture ou en art, ils enrichissent notre projet de leur enthousiasme et du questionnement de leur génération. D’ailleurs, si certains d’entre vous sont tentés …

Hélène Ramin Véronique Feugère et Christopher Kelly vézelay Maison du Visiteur

UN INCONTOURNABLE “Si vous comptez visiter la Basilique de Vezelay, passez d’abord par la Maison du Visiteur. Vous y recevrez toutes les informations pour préparer votre visite et profiter au mieux de la basilique…lire la suite”  Malmédy, Belgique

INDISPENSABLE pour comprendre la Lumière de VEZELAY  “Un accueil magnifique par Véronique et Christopher, des passionnés qui savent transmettre l’amour de ce lieu magique et sacré…” Sylvie, Culture en Liberté

EXCEPTIONNEL “La visite est fascinante et la mise en scène très réussie. L’objectif d’instruire le visiteur sur les secrets de la magnifique basilique de Vézelay est plus qu’atteint. Bravo” UL