Visits to solstices

basilica vezelay summer solstice

The Basilica of Vézelay was built in close relationship with the race of the sun. She is inhabited by the light. His dance with stones, unique in the world, culminates in the solstices of winter and summer. We take you these days in the Basilica to live an unforgettable experience.

Visit to the summer solstice

At the solstice of Saint-Jean, in the glory of summer, the sun draws in the central aisle of the nave a sumptuous path of light with impeccable geometry. He leads to the altar splashed with light. The entire Basilica shines.
NB We do not recommend coming the 21 June to see the light path of the summer solstice because of the influx of visitors. The path of light is visible throughout the month of June.

Calendar of visits and reservations

Visit to the winter solstice

At the winter solstice, the basilica offers a sumptuous receptacle to the glowing light of the sun. Its beams radiate between the pillars on the pavement of the alleys and illuminate certain capitals like spots. On cloudy days, the stones seem to radiate from the inside with their shades of ocher and opal.

In order to For individuals, the Visitor's House offers workshops Reading Capitals in December around the winter solstice, when the capitals are alive with light at certain times of the day. Read more. Dates and times at our facebook page

Duration: 1h45
individual : 12 € 50, reduced 10 €, school 8 €, 6 to 12 years 6 € - rreservations and online ticketing
Groups
: 11 € 50, school 8 € - contact us : + 33 (0) 3 86 32 35 65, maisonduvisiteur@orange.fr

The basilica of Vézelay around the winter solstice

AN ESSENTIAL "If you plan to visit the Basilica of Vezelay, go first to the Visitor's House. You will receive all the information to prepare your visit and make the most of the basilica ...read moreMalmédy, Belgium

INDISPENSABLE to understand the Light of VEZELAY "A wonderful welcome by Véronique and Christopher, passionate people who know how to transmit the love of this magical and sacred place ..." Sylvie, Culture in Freedom

EXCEPTIONAL "The visit is fascinating and the way it is done so successful. The goal of instructing the visitor on the secrets of the magnificent basilica of Vézelay is more than achieved. Bravo" UL

Les visites aux solstices

basilique vezelay solstice d'été

La Basilique de Vézelay a été construite en relation étroite avec la course du soleil. Elle est habitée par la lumière. Sa danse avec les pierres, unique au monde, culmine aux solstices d’hiver et d’été. Nous vous emmenons ces jours-là dans la Basilique vivre une expérience inoubliable.

Visite au solstice d’été

Au solstice de la Saint-Jean, dans la gloire de l’été, le soleil dessine dans l’allée centrale de la nef un somptueux chemin de lumière à la géométrie impeccable. Il conduit jusqu’à l’autel éclaboussé de lumière. La Basilique entière resplendit.
N.B. Nous vous déconseillons de venir le 21 juin pour voir le chemin de lumière du solstice d’été à cause de l’afflux des visiteurs. Le chemin de lumière est visible durant tout le mois de juin.

Calendrier des visites et réservations

Visite au solstice d’hiver

Au solstice d’hiver, la basilique offre un somptueux réceptacle à la lumière rasante du soleil. Ses faisceaux rayonnent entre les piliers sur les dalles des allées et illuminent certains chapiteaux comme des spots. Par temps couvert, les pierres semblent irradier de l’intérieur avec leurs camaïeux d’ocre et d’opale.

Pour les individuels, la Maison du Visiteur propose des ateliers Lecture de Chapiteaux au mois de décembre autour du solstice d’hiver, quand les chapiteaux sont éclairés en direct à certaines heures du jour. En savoir plus. Dates et horaires sur notre page facebook

Durée : 1h45
Individuels : 12€50, réduit 10€, scolaires 8€, 6 à 12 ans 6€ – réservations et billetterie en ligne
Groupes
: 11€50, scolaires 8€ – nous contacter : + 33 (0)3 86 32 35 65,  maisonduvisiteur@orange.fr

La basilique de Vézelay autour du solstice d'hiver

UN INCONTOURNABLE “Si vous comptez visiter la Basilique de Vezelay, passez d’abord par la Maison du Visiteur. Vous y recevrez toutes les informations pour préparer votre visite et profiter au mieux de la basilique…lire la suite”  Malmédy, Belgique

INDISPENSABLE pour comprendre la Lumière de VEZELAY  “Un accueil magnifique par Véronique et Christopher, des passionnés qui savent transmettre l’amour de ce lieu magique et sacré…” Sylvie, Culture en Liberté

EXCEPTIONNEL “La visite est fascinante et la mise en scène très réussie. L’objectif d’instruire le visiteur sur les secrets de la magnifique basilique de Vézelay est plus qu’atteint. Bravo” UL